Werther - Werther

Informations Description
Print
Xl_avatar

General informations

  • Composer :Jules Massenet
  • Librettist :Edouard Blau
  • Creation year :1892
  • Creation place :Austria
  • Acts number :4
  • Original language :French
  • Opera House of original production :Opéra Impérial
  • Original orchestration :3/3/2/1 sax.alto/2 - 4/2/3/1 - timp, percu, harpe, orgue, clavier de timbres, strings
  • Publishers :Georges | Hartmann

Work description

Description Act I Act II Act III Act IV

Werther, Massenet’s masterpiece, was written in German, in Vienna, and reprised the following year at the Opéra Comique in French. The libretto was inspired by Goethe’s epistolary novel, The Sufferings of Young Werther, whose intense romanticism perfectly suited Massenet’s temperament. Reynaldo Hahn pithily summarised the instant sensation created by Massenet’s music: “Everyone loves Massenet, except perhaps for the inhabitants of Mars.” After a period of relative oblivion, new productions revived the full power of this work, whose tormented hero seeks in death an answer to his impossible love. The score features magnificent duets between Werther and Charlotte, torn between their aspiration to happiness and implacable compliance with social and familial convention that the young woman could not escape. While utilising the resources of the large symphony orchestra, Massenet creates an intimate and penetrating atmosphere, best illustrated by a magnificent aria: “Why awaken me, O breath of spring," a true "hit" that every tenor wants to include in his repertoire.

Summary
The action takes place at Wetzlar, near Frankfurt, around 1780. Werther, a young poet, falls in love with Charlotte, the eldest daughter of the bailiff left a widower with young children. The girl replaces her siblings’ dead mother, whom she promised to wed Albert, the perfect potential husband. Bound by this promise, sacred in her eyes, Charlotte prefers to renounce her attraction to Werther. She marries Albert and makes Werther promise to go away until Christmas. But the separation brings no relief to the two young people. Werther can see no other outcome than death for their impossible love. Charlotte arrives too late to save him. Mortally wounded by the pistol he borrowed from Albert, Werther dies, at peace, in the arms of Charlotte, who finally admits her love for him.

Act I

The curtain rises on the ruckus being made by the Bailiff’s children singing Christmas carols in the middle of summer. Charlotte, the eldest, is the guardian angel of her younger siblings, whom she watches over with a mixture of authority and kindness. The young poet Werther, a friend of the family, succumbs to her charms and confesses his passionate love for her when they return from an outdoor dance.  But Charlotte, although moved, does not respond to his passion. She must respect her mother’s last will that she marry the sensible Albert.  Werther is in the throes of despair when Albert’s return is announced.

Act II

After being married to Charlotte for three months, Albert considers Wether a friend, and Sophie, Charlotte’s younger sister, secretly in love with the poet, hopes he will seek consolation in her. But Werther remains desperate, and Charlotte, becoming fearful, asks him to leave and return at Christmas when he has recovered his peace of mind.

Act III

On Christmas Eve, Charlotte excitedly rereads Werther’s passionate letters, allowing herself to be overcome by a dark melancholy.  (“Go on! Let my tears flow.”) Werther then appears, trembling with the memory of the past and now haunted by suicidal thoughts. The exalted evocation of Ossian’s verses further sharpens the pain of his impossible passion. (Why awaken me, O breath of spring….) Charlotte remains inflexible. Werther announces his departure on a “long voyage” and asks Albert to lend him his pistols. Albert finally suspects his wife’s emotion and, in a fit of jealousy, orders her to take the fatal weapons to poor Werther.

Act IV

Charlotte, gripped by a frightful foreboding, rushes to Werther, whom she finds dying. She finally confesses her love for him, thus providing him the few moments of happiness and peace that he wanted so much. As the joyful singing of the children celebrates Christmas night, Werner, finally happy, dies in the arms of the one he loved so passionately.

Comments

Loading

Werther - Werther

Informations Description
Imprimer
Xl_avatar

Informations générales

  • Compositeur :Jules Massenet
  • Librettiste :Edouard Blau
  • Année de création :1892
  • Lieu de création :Autriche
  • Nombre d'acte :4
  • Langue originale :Français
  • Maison d'opéra de la production originale :Opéra Impérial
  • Orchestration originale :3/3/2/1 sax.alto/2 - 4/2/3/1 - timp, percu, harpe, orgue, clavier de timbres, strings
  • Editeurs :Georges | Hartmann

Description de l'Œuvre

Description Acte 1 Acte 2 Acte 3 Acte 4

Werther, le chef-d’œuvre de Massenet, fut créé à Vienne en allemand et repris l’année suivante à l’Opéra-Comique en français. Le livret s’inspire du célèbre roman épistolaire de Goethe, Les Souffrances du jeune Werther dont le romantisme exacerbé s’accordait parfaitement à la sensibilité de Massenet. Reynaldo Hahn a résumé d’une formule l’engouement suscité d’emblée par la musique de Massenet : « tout le monde aime Massenet, sauf peut-être les habitants de la planète Mars… ». Après une période d’oubli relatif, de nouvelles productions ont su rendre toute sa force à cet ouvrage dont le héros tourmenté cherche dans la mort une réponse à son impossible amour. La partition offre de magnifiques duos entre Werther et Charlotte déchirés entre leur aspiration au bonheur et le respect implacable des conventions sociales et familiales que la jeune femme est incapable de dépasser. Massenet tout en utilisant les ressources du grand orchestre symphonique crée une atmosphère intime et pénétrante dont la meilleure illustration est un air magnifique : « Pourquoi me réveiller, ô souffle du printemps… » véritable « tube » que tout ténor veut avoir à son répertoire.

Résumé

L’action se déroule à Wetzlar , dans les environs de Francfort, vers 1780. Werther, un jeune poète, s’éprend de Charlotte, la fille aînée du bailli resté veuf avec ses jeunes enfants. La jeune fille remplace auprès de ses frères et sœurs sa mère disparue, à laquelle elle a promis d’épouser Albert, modèle du parfait époux. Liée par cette promesse sacrée à ses yeux, Charlotte préfère renoncer à son inclination pour Werther. Elle épouse Albert et fait promettre à Werther de s’éloigner jusqu’à Noël. Mais la séparation n’apporte aucun apaisement aux deux jeunes gens. Werther ne voit pas d’autre issue à leur impossible amour que la mort. Charlotte arrive trop tard pour le sauver. Atteint mortellement par le pistolet qu’il a emprunté à Albert, Werther meurt, apaisé, dans les bras de Charlotte qui lui avoue enfin son amour.

Acte 1

Le rideau se lève sur le chahut des jeunes enfants du Bailli qui répètent des cantiques de Noël en plein été. Charlotte, la fille aînée, est l’ange tutélaire de cette jeune fratrie sur laquelle elle veille avec un mélange d’autorité et de bonté. Le jeune poète, Werther, ami de la maison, tombe sous son charme et lui avoue son amour passionné au retour d’un bal champêtre. Mais Charlotte, bien que troublée, ne peut répondre à cette passion. Elle doit respecter la dernière volonté de sa mère qui la destinait au sage Albert. Werther est en proie au désespoir alors même qu’on annonce le retour d’Albert.

Acte 2

Marié à Charlotte depuis trois mois, Albert considère Werther comme un ami et Sophie, la jeune sœur de Charlotte, amoureuse du poète en secret, aimerait volontiers qu’il cherche une consolation auprès d’elle. Mais Werther reste désespéré et Charlotte, prenant peur, lui demande de partir et de ne revenir qu’à Noël quand il aura retrouvé la sérénité.

Acte 3

La veille de Noël, Charlotte relit avec émotion les lettres passionnées de Werther en se laissant gagner par une sombre mélancolie. (« Va! Laisse couler mes larmes »). Werther se présente alors, frémissant au souvenir du passé et désormais hanté par l’idée du suicide. L’évocation exaltée des vers d’Ossian ravive encore les douleurs de son impossible passion. (Pourquoi me réveiller, ô souffle du printemps…). Charlotte demeure inflexible. Werther annonce son départ pour un « lointain voyage » et demande à Albert de lui prêter ses pistolets. Celui-ci finit par soupçonner le trouble de sa femme et, dans un accès de jalousie, lui ordonne de faire porter les armes fatales au pauvre Werther.

Acte 4

Charlotte, prise d’un terrible pressentiment, se précipite chez Werther qu’elle trouve agonisant. Elle lui avoue enfin son amour et lui procure ainsi les moments de bonheur et d’apaisement auxquels il aspirait tant. Tandis que s’élève le chant joyeux des enfants qui célèbrent la nuit de Noël, Werther enfin heureux, expire dans les bras de celle qu’il n’a cessé d’aimer passionnément.

Commentaires

Loading