The Magic Flute - Festival d'Aix-en-Provence (2014) - La Flûte enchantée - Festival d'Aix-en-Provence (2014)

Information Description
Xl_avatar © Copyright all right reserved

General Information

  • Production title :La Flûte enchantée - Festival d'Aix-en-Provence (2014)
  • Creation date :07/07/2014
  • Work - Composer :Die Zauberflöte - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Opera house :Grand Théâtre de Provence


New production of the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence
In coproduction with De Nederlandse Opera and English National Opera

It is the story of Tamino, a young foreign prince, who, at the urging of the Queen of the Night, braves Sarastro’s kingdom and undergoes terrible ordeals for the love of Pamina. It is also the story of Papageno, the comic bird-catcher who longs only to eat, drink – and find his Papagena! The Magic Flute, Mozart’s last opera, is also his most extraordinary, with its mixture of genres and styles, ranging from fantastic tale to philosophical fable, from Viennese comedy to grand opera. Mozart’s last masterpiece is the key work for any event with a Mozartian flavour such as the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence; it will be given in Simon McBurney’s intriguing production. The British director uses technology imaginatively to recreate the magic of pantomime, while his in-depth reading of the libretto reveals how it achieves universal relevance through its combination of different elements.

More information is available on the festival's official website.

Attend this production with our partner La Fugue - Europera.


July 02, 2014 19:00:00

July 04, 2014 19:00:00

July 06, 2014 19:00:00

July 09, 2014 19:00:00

July 11, 2014 19:00:00

July 14, 2014 17:00:00

July 17, 2014 19:00:00

July 19, 2014 17:00:00

July 20, 2014 19:00:00

July 23, 2014 19:00:00


Simon McBurney

Pablo Heras-Casado

Christof Fischesser

Topi Lehtipuu

Maarten Koningsberger

Albina Shagimuratova

Mari Eriksmoen

Thomas Oliemans

Josef Wagner

Regula Mühlemann

Andreas Conrad

Elmar Gilbertsson

Krzysztof Bączyk

Ana Maria Labin

Silvia De la Muela

Claudia Huckle

Krzysztof Bączyk

Elmar Gilbertsson

Work's characters list






Die Königin der Nacht






Erster Geharnischter

Zweiter Geharnischter

Erste Dame

Zweite Dame

Dritte Dame

Erster Priester

Zweiter Priester