The Tales of Hoffmann - Les Contes d...

Informations Description
Print
Xl_avatar

General informations

  • Composer :Jacques Offenbach
  • Librettist :Jules Barbier
  • Creation year :1881
  • Creation place :France
  • Acts number :5
  • Opera House of original production :L'Opéra Comique

Work description

Description Act 1 Act 2 Act 3 Prologue Epilogue

Testament as Masterpiece. For his swan song, Jacques Offenbach created a work that goes against the grain of his hilariously satirical operettas that mocked, while simultaneously charming, the Second Empire and its obsession with pleasure and oblivion. Of course, Offenbach remembers to have fun with this opéra fantastique, but he tinges the adventures of the poet Hoffmann with a dark, fatalistic dimension - in the image of the four maleficent figures who accompany him and push him into unhappiness. In this quest for the absolute and the feminine ideal, intoxication blends with the macabre, the popular vein with lyrical flare-ups. The Tales of Hoffmann features three stages in the sentimental life of a man, three stories forming one unclassifiable opera, a masterpiece of French romanticism, a maze of dizziness and frivolity.

Summary

In Luther’s tavern in Munich - where the opera begins and ends - the poet Hoffmann, with his confidant Nicklausse, begins to tell the story of his three unfortunately love affairs, in which Councillor Lindorf has played a crucial role, dressed in three different costumes, each more diabolical than the others. In Hoffmann’s mad passion for Olympia the mechanical doll, Lindorf has become Coppélius, a street vendor crushing the poet’s impossible dream. With the singer Antonia, he was Doctor Miracle, a maleficent charlatan whose advice struck down the girl, thereby killing the mad love Hoffman had for her. Finally, in Venice, the magician Dapertutto has manoeuvred the courtesan Giulietta – the object of Hoffmann’s desires – so that she obtains his reflection - in other words, his soul. But Giulietta has fled, and jealousy and crime are blended in this sordid and once again disastrous story.

Act 1

The poet Hoffmann has taken it into his head to recount his love affairs - three ill-fated loves stymied by three maleficent characters, perhaps all the very same incarnation of the Devil, perhaps the disturbing councillor Lindorf who lurks about mocking him. Hoffmann, now drunk, starts to sing of the legend of Kleinzach before he is overcome by this sad passions.

Act 2

Dazzled by the beauty of Olympia, whom Doctor Spalanzani has introduced maliciously, Hoffmann allows himself to be blinded: this Olympia he loves is a mechanical doll! A robot! With a very limited vocabulary but nonetheless capable of reciting some delightful couplets in her shrill voice. And of completely dumbfounding Hoffmann.

Act 3

Olympia has been destroyed by Coppélius, and Hoffmann has awoken suddenly from his illusions. His second love is named Antonia: this sweet girl is a singer, but stricken with a fatal disease that keeps her from uttering any sound. Hoffmann, like Antonia’s father, urges her to be good and to refrain. But Doctor Miracle’s intervention is a fatal one; he orders her to sing and sing some more, even daring to have her mother appear to her in a dream. Antonia collapses, dead.

Prologue

Hoffmann’s new passion takes him to Venice, where he is smitten with the courtesan Giulietta, who is under the power the the magician Dapertutto. With Nicklausse, Hoffmann’s confidant, Giulietta sings a barcarolle,  “Belle nuit, ô nuit d’amour….”

Epilogue

We find Hoffmann in Luther’s tavern where he has told his three tales. What to expect next? A new conquest? At that very moment Lindorf steals the singer Stella away from him: she might have been the incarnation of the three women he loved. What to do except get drunk again? The Muse then draws the poet nearer, seeking to ease his pain for ever: “des cendres de ton cœur réchauffe ton génie”.

Comments

Loading

Les Contes d'Hoffmann - Les Contes d'...

Informations Description
Imprimer
Xl_avatar

Informations générales

  • Compositeur :Jacques Offenbach
  • Librettiste :Jules Barbier
  • Année de création :1881
  • Lieu de création :France
  • Nombre d'acte :5
  • Maison d'opéra de la production originale :L'Opéra Comique

Description de l'Œuvre

Description Prologue Acte 1 Acte 2 Acte 3 Epilogue

Les Contes d'Hoffmann, un testament en forme de chef-d’œuvre. Pour son chant du cygne, Jacques Offenbach signe un ouvrage à rebours de ses opérettes satiriques et décapantes qui moquaient, tout en l’enchantant, un Second Empire en quête de plaisirs et d’oubli. Certes, Offenbach n’oublie pas d’amuser dans cet opéra fantastique, mais il colore les aventures du poète Hoffmann d’une dimension noire et fatale – à l’image des quatre figures maléfiques qui l’accompagnent et le poussent au malheur. Dans cette quête de l’absolu et de l’idéal féminin, la griserie se mêle au macabre, la veine populaire aux embrasements lyriques. Les Contes d’Hoffmann, ce sont trois époques de la vie sentimentale d’un homme, trois histoires formant un opéra inclassable, chef-d’œuvre du romantisme français, dédale de vertige et de légèreté.

Résumé

A Munich, dans la taverne à vins de Luther – là où débute et finit l’opéra – le poète Hoffmann, flanqué de son confident Nicklausse, entame le récit de ses trois amours malheureux, dans lesquels le conseiller Lindorf a joué un rôle crucial, vêtu de trois costumes différents, tous plus diaboliques les uns que les autres. Dans la passion folle d’Hoffmann pour la poupée Olympia, Lindorf est devenu Coppélius, camelot brisant net le rêve impossible du poète. Face à la cantatrice Antonia, il a été le Docteur Miracle, charlatan maléfique dont les conseils ont foudroyé la jeune fille, et tué par là même l’amour éperdu d’Hoffmann pour elle. A Venise enfin, le magicien Dapertutto a manœuvré la courtisane Giulietta – objet des désirs d’Hoffmann – pour qu’elle obtienne de lui son reflet – autrement dit son âme. Mais Giulietta a fui, et la jalousie et le crime se sont mêlés à cette histoire sordide, funeste une fois de plus.

Prologue

Le poète Hoffmann s’est mis en tête de raconter ses amours – trois amours malheureux mis en échec par trois personnages maléfiques, peut-être une seule et même incarnation du Diable, peut-être cet inquiétant conseiller Lindorf qui rôde et se moque de lui. Ivre, Hoffmann commence par entonner la légende de Kleinzach, avant de se laisser rattraper par ses passions tristes.

Extrait : « Il était une fois à la cour d’Eisenach »

Acte 1

Ebloui par la beauté d’Olympia, que le Docteur Spalanzani a présentée avec malice, Hoffmann s’est laissé aveugler : cette Olympia qu’il aime est une poupée ! Un automate ! Doué d’un vocabulaire très limité, mais capable néanmoins de réciter de sa voix suraiguë de délicieux couplets. Et d’étourdir totalement Hoffmann.

Extrait : « Les oiseaux dans la charmille »

Acte 2

Olympia a été détruite par Coppélius, et Hoffmann s’est brusquement réveillé de ses illusions. Son deuxième amour s’appelle Antonia : cette douce jeune fille est chanteuse, mais atteinte d’une maladie mortelle qui lui interdit la moindre vocalise. Hoffmann, tout comme le père d’Antonia, lui recommandent d’être sage et de se retenir. Mais l’intervention du Docteur Miracle est fatale, qui lui ordonne de chanter et de chanter encore, osant même lui faire apparaître sa mère en songe. Antonia s’écroule mortellement.

Extrait : « Ta mère, oses-tu l’invoquer ? »

Acte 3

La nouvelle passion d’Hoffmann l’entraine à Venise, où il s’est épris de la courtisane Giulietta, sous le pouvoir du magicien Dapertutto. En compagnie de Nicklausse, confident d’Hoffmann, Giulietta entonne une barcarolle  Belle nuit, ô nuit d’amour ….

Extrait : « Belle nuit, ô nuit d’amour »

Epilogue

On retrouve Hoffmann dans la taverne de Luther où il a livré ses trois récits. Qu’espérer désormais ? Une nouvelle conquête ? Lindorf lui chipe à l’instant même la cantatrice Stella, qui pourrait être l’incarnation des trois femmes qu’il a aimées. Que faire sinon se saouler encore ? La Muse attire alors le poète, tâchant d’adoucir ses peines à jamais : « des cendres de ton cœur réchauffe ton génie ».

Extrait : « Des cendres de ton cœur réchauffe ton génie » 

Commentaires

Loading