The Trojans - Les Troyens

Informations Description Excerpts
Print
Xl_avatar

General informations

Work description

Description Act 1 Act 2 Act 3 Act 5

Five acts, nine scenes, an omnipresent chorus, a plethora of roles, a monumental orchestra… Hector Berlioz, acting as a demiurge, has created his own version of Virgil's epic poem The Aeneid. For a long time Les Troyens was considered a musical behemoth and was divided into two distinct evenings (Les Troyens à Carthage and La Prise de Troie). It illustrates the wild ambitions of the French composer, who produced a historical tableau commensurate with his genius. The work is based on an idea that haunted him from his early childhood and of which he would say after its completion: “I have spent half my life among the demigods; I figure they knew me as much as I know them.” At times epic, poetic and intrepid, full of brio and supported by a keen sense of tragedy, Les Troyens forms a flamboyant ensemble. One is taken in by the pomp of its marches, its bellicose scenes, the prophetic curses of Cassandra and Dido and perhaps, as well, the headiness of one of the most beautiful love duets in the repertoire.

Summary

The story takes place in the ancient city of Troy. Cassandra foresees a threat to her people. Despite the fact the Greeks have retreated, she predicts the imminent fall of the city. In fact, the Greeks have surreptitiously entered the city inside a wooden horse left behind as a gift. As they ransack the city, Cassandra and the women of Troy prefer to commit mass suicide rather than surrender to the Greeks. Prince Aeneas manages to flee Troy with his fleet and sets sail for Italy. However, a violent storm causes him to land at Carthage, a city founded and governed by Queen Dido. The latter falls in love with Aeneas and accepts his help in fighting off the Numidians. Aeneas repels the enemy from Carthage and wins the heart of Dido as well. But their love has no future. Aeneas must obey the gods and found a new city of Troy. He leaves Dido who threatens him at first, but then is overwhelmed with despair. The Queen of Carthage kills herself, after predicting the fall of her realm.

Act 1

The Greeks have retreated from Troy, leaving an enormous wooden horse as a gift… Cassandra foresees the fall of Troy. Her fiancé, Coroebus, cannot assuage her fears.

Act 2

While the ghost of Hector warns Aeneas to flee to Italy, the horse is brought into the city and the soldiers hidden inside stream out. A battle ensues and Troy falls, engulfed in flames. Surrounded by the women of Troy, who prefer to die rather than surrender to the Greeks, Cassandra stabs herself to death, after foreseeing the triumph of Aeneas.

Act 3

Aeneas has arrived in Carthage, ruled by Queen Dido. Dido is immediately attracted to the young warrior, who agrees to have his troops defend Carthage, which is threatened by the Numidians. Aeneas’ victory is celebrated during festivities in which the poet Lopas takes part. Dido and Aeneas go off to be alone and sing a beautiful love duet.

Excerpt: « Nuit d’ivresse et d’extase infinie »

Act 5

Aeneas has stayed too long and languishes in Carthage.Panthous reminds him the gods will be angry if he does not sail to Italy…and away from Dido’s arms.The Trojan Prince cannot escape his destiny, of which he is now keenly aware. He decides to leave.

Dido begs Aeneas to stay, but the hero’s decision is final. He leaves Carthage and his queen, and sets sail for Italy.Dido is filled with anger and despair. After the Trojans leave, she climbs atop of a sacrificial pyre and stabs herself in the heart, after predicting the destruction of Carthage and the greatness of the future city of Rome.

Excerpts

Immersive mode

Comments

Loading

Les Troyens - Les Troyens

Informations Description Extraits
Imprimer
Xl_avatar

Informations générales

Description de l'Œuvre

Description Acte 1 Acte 2 Acte 3 Acte 5

Cinq actes, neuf tableaux, un chœur omniprésent, pléthore de rôles, un orchestre qui est un monument à lui tout seul : Hector Berlioz a réglé en démiurge sa propre vision de L’Enéide de Virgile. Ces Troyens, longtemps considérés comme un monstre injouable et scindés en deux soirées distinctes (Les Troyens à Carthage puis La Prise de Troie), résument les ambitions démesurées du compositeur français, qui accouche d’une fresque à la hauteur de son génie. C’est une idée qui le hante depuis l’enfance et dont il dira encore après les avoir terminés : « J’ai passé ma vie avec ce peuple de demi-dieux ; je me figure qu’ils m’ont connu, tant je les connais. » Tour à tour épiques, poétiques et intrépides, traversés de fulgurances et portés par un sens aigu de la grandeur tragique, Les Troyens forment un tout flamboyant. On s’y abandonne pour la pompe de ses marches, le bellicisme de ses scènes, les imprécations prophétiques de Cassandre et de Didon, et peut-être aussi pour l’ivresse d’un duo d’amour parmi les plus envoûtants du répertoire.

Résumé

L’action se déroule à Troie, dans l’Antiquité. Cassandre sent la menace qui pèse sur son peuple : malgré le départ des Grecs, elle est certaine de la destruction imminente de la cité. En effet, les Grecs sont entrés dans la ville, aidés du cheval de bois offert aux Troyens. Alors qu’ils dévastent la ville, Cassandre et les femmes troyennes s’immolent pour ne pas leur appartenir. Le Prince Enée a juste le temps de quitter Troie avec sa flotte et de faire cap sur l’Italie. Toutefois, un orage le fait échouer à Carthage, cité fondée et gouvernée par Didon. Cette dernière, qui s’éprend peu à peu d’Enée, accepte l’aide de son hôte et de ses troupes pour protéger son royaume des invasions barbares. Enée repousse l’ennemi de Carthage, remporte la victoire, et gagne le cœur de Didon. Mais l’amour de Didon et Enée n’a guère d’avenir sur les rives africaines : sommé par les Dieux d’accomplir son destin et d’aller fonder une nouvelle Troie, Enée quitte brusquement Didon, qui le menace d’abord, avant de s’effondrer. Perdue, la reine de Carthage dit adieu aux siens puis s’immole, prédisant la chute de son royaume.

Acte 1

Les Grecs se sont retirés de Troie mais ont offert en cadeau un immense cheval de bois... Cassandre pressent et prophétise la chute de Troie. Son amant Chorèbe ne parvient pas à apaiser ses craintes.

Acte 2

Pendant que le fantôme d’Hector avertissait Enée et le pressait de fuir vers l’Italie, le cheval est entré dans la ville et a libéré les soldats grecs qui s’y cachaient. C’est la prise, puis la chute de Troie, dévastée par les flammes. Entourée de femmes troyennes qui préfèrent mourir plutôt que d’appartenir aux Grecs, Cassandre se poignarde, non sans avoir entrevu le destin triomphal d’Enée.

Acte 3

Enée a gagné le royaume de Carthage, sur lequel règne Didon. D’emblée, Didon a été attirée par le guerrier troyen, qui accepte de mettre ses troupes au service de Carthage, menacé d’invasions par le roi barbare Iarbas. La victoire d’Enée est célébrée par une fête à laquelle participe le poète Iopas. Puis Didon et Enée s’isolent et s’avouent leur amour dans un merveilleux duo nocturne.

Extrait : « Nuit d’ivresse et d’extase infinie »

Acte 5

Enée a trop tardé et langui à Carthage : Panthée lui rappelle la mission qui l’attend et la colère grondante des Dieux qui menace s’il ne quitte pas très vite les rivages africains… et les bras de Didon. Impossible pour le prince troyen de se soustraire à son destin, dont il reprend instantanément conscience. Il partira.

Didon supplie Enée de rester auprès d’elle, mais la décision du héros est prise. Il quitte Carthage et sa reine, et embarque avec sa flotte à destination de l’Italie. Didon, perdue, laisse éclater une rage mêlée de désespoir. Après ses adieux à son royaume, elle monte sur son bûcher et s’enfonce une épée dans le cœur, non sans avoir prédit la chute de son royaume et la grandeur de la future Rome.

Extraits

Mode immersif

Commentaires

Loading