Morgen und Abend - Royal Opera House Covent Garden (2015) - Morgen und Abend - Royal Opera House Covent Garden (2015)


General Information

  • Production title:Morgen und Abend - Royal Opera House Covent Garden (2015)
  • Creation date:13/11/2015
  • Work - Composer:Morgen und Abend - Georg Friedrich Haas
  • Opera house:Royal Opera House - Covent Garden.


World premiere
New production

Austrian composer Georg Friedrich Haas is fast becoming one of the leading composers of his generation. Morgen und Abend (Morning and Evening) marks his first commission from The Royal Opera. Award-winning Norwegian author, poet and playwright Jon Fosse provides the libretto – an adaptation of his acclaimed 2000 novel of the same name, which describes with meditative, near incantatory simplicity the life of a fisherman from birth to death. This world premiere is directed by Graham Vick, Artistic Director of Birmingham Opera Company and former Director of Productions with Scottish Opera and Glyndebourne Festival Opera.

Haas shot to international fame with in vain (2000), described by Simon Rattle as ‘an astonishing work of art and an acknowledged masterpiece of the 21st century’. Common to all of his works is an intense and highly charged atmosphere, constructed from shifting sound worlds that coalesce suddenly into opulent richness. Haas’s latest works have continued his experimentation with sound and the interplay of light and dark, in works such as ins Licht (2007) and ATTHIS (2009, heard in the Linbury Studio Theatre spring 2015).

More information is available on the opera house's official website.


November 13, 2015 19:30:00

November 17, 2015 19:30:00

November 21, 2015 19:30:00

November 25, 2015 19:30:00

November 28, 2015 19:00:00


Graham Vick

Michael Boder

Christoph Pohl

Sarah Wegener

Will Hartmann

Helena Rasker

Klaus Maria Brandauer

Work's characters list




Signe / Midwife